top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Week 8

It's really hard to believe that this is my final week at EMB. I have learned quite a bit about the residential industry, it has been an interesting experience to say the least. I've gotten a taste of a little bit of everything that this field requires, from starting with a new construction house to doing a small bathroom remodel. There have been a lot of different clients and a variety of problems that needed to be solved. After taking a residential class in the spring and comparing to real life, it is completely different then what I expected it to be. Working with clients can be difficult and balance multiply different people and jobs can also be a challenging task. Time Management and organization is key but that's easier said then done. Every time we clean the studio it seems to get messy again in no time. We are constantly being pulled in different directions trying to balance everything. Once we sit down to work on one client another calls with a problem or tells about a last minute things then we have to turn around and work on them, it's amazing anything gets accomplished!

Being able to communicate and collaborate with clients and contractors you are working with also makes a huge difference in the real world rather then being in school. Options from clients can completely change your design outcome. It's not fully your opinion that matters, it's your clients that comes first. While they may trust your opinion, you also have to take in to account theirs, and some people do not know what they want. One client we are currently working with to finish her new construction home is picky but she doesn’t know what she wants. She changes her mind constantly and can only tell us what she doesn't like. This makes finding materials for her even more difficult. But I have learned ways to deal with all the different types of people.

After the last 8 weeks, I have come to realize that maybe the residential industry is not for me. Or maybe just not in Mandeville.... But I still have time to figure all that out. I would like to work in commercial to get a feel for that side as well so that I could decide which would be the best for me. Or maybe venture out this area. I have a while to figure what I want to with the rest of my life, and it make take a few trial and errors but one thing is for certain, I do want to do something with interior design. I'm Just not sure what yet..... I’ll find that out eventually, but for now, I’m still a designer in training.


bottom of page